Coventry Priory CIC was established to take over the running of the Priory Visitor Centre in 2017. We are a volunteer-led Social Enterprise Business running the Priory Visitor Centre and Undercroft in the heart of the medieval cathedral quarter in the centre of Coventry. We have a wide variety of the original artefacts from Lady Godiva’s and the Earl of Merica Leofric Cathedral built in the 11th Century and demolished by King Henry VIII under the dissolution of the monasteries post 1539.
Our venue was built following Channel 4 Time Team and Coventry City Council Archaeological dig 1999-2003. Our mission is to be more than a museum, offering an on-site café, community & event facilities, guided tours and unique Arts/Heritage offering. “Heritage opens the doors it’s the conversations we have that keep them coming back for more”
Our lead & founding director Carole Donnelly has led a team of volunteers to keep this local & national treasure open since it closed to the public on the 28th February 2016. Since then we have gone on to win a few awards including Carole being a finalist in the Women Who Start Up business 2018, Winner in Women Who Network 2018, Wise 100 Social Enterprise Woman 2017 & 2018 and our young tour guide Darcy Harrison, was recognised for his excellent contribution to tourism in the C&W Tourism Awards 2017.